Green Mountain Academy by Frances Greenslade

Read an excerpt
See all author's titles

See also
francesgreenslade.com
facebook.com

55,486 words
Page proofs now available

RIGHTS SOLD

North American: Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers, September 2022

ABOUT FRANCES GREENSLADE

Francis Greenslade | Photo Credit: Stuart Bish
(Photo: Stuart Bish)

Frances Greenslade was born in St. Catharines, Ontario, where she grew up with four sisters and one brother playing among the orchards of the Niagara Peninsula. The family moved to Winnipeg when she was ten. Francie earned an English degree at University of Winnipeg before moving to Vancouver, where she completed an MFA in Creative Writing at UBC in 1992. Francie lives in Penticton, B.C., where she teaches English Literature at Okanagan College. She has published work in several literary magazines as well as two previous memoirs, A Pilgrim in Ireland: A Quest for Home and By the Secret Ladder: A Mother’s Initiation (Penguin, 2002 and 2007). Shelter was shortlisted for the 2012 Evergreen Award and the 2012 Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. Red Fox Road is her first children’s novel.

Green Mountain Academy

a middle-grade novel by Frances Greenslade

Green Mountain Academy is a companion novel to Red Fox Road, bringing back our favourite young survivalist, Francie

Green Mountain Academy - Canadian cover

A daring rescue in the middle of a snowstorm in this compelling survival story for ages 10 to 14.

For fans of Hatchet and The Skeleton Tree.

After a family trip turned disastrous when their truck broke down in the middle of an old loggingroad in Oregon, Francie is now back in home British Columbia. People try to make things as “normal” as possible for her, but they just don’t understand that trying to be normal in your old life that’s exploded is the worst feeling in the world. Luckily for Francie, the wilderness is still soothing, and an opportunity to attend the Green Mountain Academy, a tiny boarding school perched on the side of a mountain, seems perfect.

It’s a new start, with new friends, and a chance at a new family. But when a winter storm hits, knocking out all the power, news that a small plane has gone missing unsettles Francie. Knowingthat the chances of survival in the middle of a wild nighttime snowstorm diminishes over time, Francie is compelled to leave the cozy school and set out into the icy cold, swirling snowstorm.


Praise for green mountain academy

“Francie narrates the action while sensitively exploring the effects of tragedy, guilt, and sacrifice. …Action-packed, with a strong emotional underpinning, this story satisfies.” — KIRKUS REVIEWS

Praise for the works of Frances Greenslade

“Rendered with exquisite sensory detail, this hero’s journey is a resonant read for unsettling times.” — KIRKUS REVIEWS, starred review

“Red Fox Road by Frances Greenslade is a truly wonderful book for readers ages 11-15. […]It is a book I’ll pass on to a grandchild who is a mature and voracious reader. I also think it would be a great classroom read-aloud for grades 6 to 8. These are tough times for kids and reading about a child who is resilient and smart, in a really well-written and perfectly plotted novel, is a good thing.” —  PARRY SOUND BOOKS

“Francie Greenslade is brilliant in her portrayal of the half-suspected world that lies just beyond the senses of every thirteen year old. The book’s a triumph.”
 — ALAN BRADLEY, author of The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

“Frances Greenslade has a real gift as a teller of stories, and she tells them in the clearest, most accessible prose, so that they flow one into the other. Once I started reading A Pilgrim in Ireland, I was so engrossed that I couldn't stop. Before I knew it, an entire afternoon had flown by.” — SHARON BUTALA

“[Frances Greenslade] is an accomplished storyteller who demonstrates a deft touch with ironic humour, a rare gift. She also managed to find the perfect voice for this particular piece of work. ” — THE STAR PHOENIX, SASKATOON

Shelter is a beating heart of a book, alive with Greenslade’s fierce imagination, her acute descriptions of the natural world, her sure hand with narrative.” — TORONTO STAR

“Poignant, tender and vivid, Shelter traces the relationship of two daughters with their missing mother through family stories. Greenslade’s gorgeous landscapes and loving attention to her characters make this journey through loss and survival unforgettable. I was glued to every page.” — EDEN ROBINSON, author of Monkey Beach

 

Red Fox Road - Ukrainian edition

 

 

 

Back to top